Report Viewer

NINDS CDE Notice of Copyright
Edmonton Symptom Assessment System (ESAS)
Please email the author for information about obtaining the instrument:
Supplemental: Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
Short Description of Instrument

The Edmonton Symptom Assessment System (ESAS) is designed to assist in the assessment of subjects at the end of life. Nine patient symptoms are assessed: pain, tiredness, nausea, depression, anxiety, drowsiness, appetite, well-being and shortness of breath.


A scale from 0 -10 is used (none to worst possible).


Bruera E, Kuehn N, Miller MJ, Selmser P, Macmillan K. The Edmonton symptom assessment system (ESAS): a simple method for the assessment of palliative care patients. J. Palliat Care 1991; 7(2):6-9.


Document last updated July 2018